Cannabidiol (CBD)

In recent years, cannabidiol as a promising component of the hemp plant has increasingly moved into the focus of science and research.

 

What is CBD?

Cannabidiol, short CBD, is a cannabinoid and therefore one of the numerous ingredients of the hemp plant. In recent years, CBD’s diverse properties have increasingly become the focus of public interest and make it an active ingredient with great potential.

Endogenous cannabinoids

Endogenous cannabinoids are produced by the body itself. The best known is anandamide, which was discovered in 1992 by the American pharmacologist William Anthony Devane and the Czech chemist Lumír Ondřej Hanuš in the central nervous system of vertebrates. Like THC, anandamide binds mainly to the CB1 receptor, where it can even completely displace it in high doses. Its effect is similar to that of THC, but it is much weaker and passes more quickly.

Exogenous cannabinoids

In addition to endocannabinoids, there are also exogenous cannabinoids which the human body cannot produce itself and which occur in plants, in particular the hemp plant. The best known exogenous cannabinoids include psychoactive THC and non-psychoactive CBD.

THC vs. CBD

Besides CBD, tetrahydrocannabinol is probably the best known exogenous cannabinoid and is mainly known for its psychoactive and intoxicating effects. The THC produced in hemp is not psychoactive due to its concentration of less than 0.3%.

Cannabidiol (CBD)

In den vergangenen Jahren rückte Cannabidiol als ein vielversprechender Bestandteil der Hanfpflanze vermehrt in den Fokus von Wissenschaft und Forschung.

 

Was ist CBD?

Cannabidiol, kurz CBD, ist ein Cannabinoid und damit einer der zahlreichen Inhaltsstoffe der Hanfpflanze. Seine vielfältigen Eigenschaften rücken CBD in den letzten Jahren immer öfter in den Fokus öffentlichen Interesses und machen es zu einem Wirkstoff mit großem Potenzial.

Endogene Cannabinoide

Endogene Cannabinoide werden vom Körper selbst produziert. Am bekanntesten ist das Anandamid, das 1992 vom amerikanischen Pharmakologen William Anthony Devane und dem tschechischen Chemiker Lumír Ondřej Hanuš im Zentralnervensystem von Wirbeltieren entdeckt wurde. Anandamid bindet so wie THC vorwiegend an den Rezeptor CB1, wo es dieses in hoher Dosierung sogar vollständig verdrängen kann. Seine Wirkung ähnelt der von THC, ist aber wesentlich schwächer und vergeht rascher.

Exogene Cannabinoide

Neben den Endocannabinoiden gibt es auch exogene Cannabinoide, die der menschliche Körper nicht selbst produzieren kann und die in Pflanzen, insbesondere der Hanfpflanze, vorkommen. Zu den bekanntesten exogenen Cannabinoiden zählen das psychoaktive THC und das nicht psychoaktive CBD.

THC vs. CBD

Das Tetrahydrocannabinol ist neben dem CBD das wohl bekannteste exogene Cannabinoid und ist vor allem wegen seiner psychoaktiven und berauschenden Wirkung bekannt. Das bei Hanf produzierte THC ist aufgrund der Konzentration von unter 0,3% nicht psychoaktiv.